About this guide
This guide lists key sources of information for Canadian legal research. Click on the tabs for different types of sources and research tips.
You may also want to see our Criminology guide.
Please visit the library or ask a librarian for additional assistance. Librarians are available to help you by phone, email and online chat. The library is open during these hours.
Quick search
Try our Summon Search to find resources across our entire library collection - books, journal articles and more!
Legal research guides
... help you to understand the legal process and tools available
- Best Guide to Canadian Legal ResearchCatherine Best's excellent overview. BC focus.
- Osgoode Hall Law Library Research GuidesDivided into different areas of law: constitutional, criminal, etc. Canadian.
Legal dictionaries
... help you to understand specialized terms
- Canadian Online Legal DictionaryDefinitions are excerpted from books published by Irwin Law.
- Canadian Legal Words & PhrasesDefinitions of terms provided in case law.
Part of Quicklaw collection. You can search it from the Home page, by entering a term in the 'Find a definition' box. Also available under COMMENTARY tab. - Dictionary of Law (Oxford)Part of the Oxford Reference Online Collection. UK.
- Duhaime's Legal DictionaryLegal definitions in plain language. US.
- Legal Dictionary - NEW!Plain-language definitions of legal terms. From the BC Justice Education Society.
- Black's Law Dictionary (9th ed.)Not available online. The most well-known US legal dictionary. Please consult one of the copies available at each campus library.
Shelved at: REF KF 156 B53 2009
Encyclopedias
... help you to choose a topic and start your research
- Canadian Encyclopedic DigestNot available online. Summarizes Canadian law, with citations to key laws and cases. Organized in binders by broad area of law. Continuously updated. Please consult the reference set at the Surrey campus:
Shelved at: REF KE 156 C374 - Encyclopedia of Psychology and LawPart of Sage Reference Online collection. US.
Liaison Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
